Restricting access to the internet

Hello,

I’m quite new in AppleScript, so my question. I’m working in schools and we have Mac OS X labs. Some teachers need to prevent the use of internet in some lessons, and i have thought to an AppleScript which could be launched by Apple Remore Desktop.

This script could modify the Preferences System Network. Normaly IPv4 is set to DHCP. If the script could change this to “no”, the conection to Internet would be impossible.

I’ve tried by first enabling GUI scripting, but i have not enough knowledge in AppleScript.

May someone help me, it would be great !

Thanks

Christian

This one works here:

tell application "System Events"
	tell process "System Preferences"

--> choose ethernet from popup button
		click pop up button 2 of window 1
		click menu item 4 of menu of pop up button 2 of window 1

--> go to tab "TCP/IP"
		click radio button 1 of tab group 1 of group 1 of window 1

--> deactivate DHCP from popup IPv4
		click pop up button 1 of group 1 of tab group 1 of group 1 of window 1
		click menu item 6 of menu of pop up button 1 of group 1 of tab group 1 of group 1 of window 1

delay 1

--> click "apply"
		click button 7 of window 1
	end tell
end tell

Take a look here for more info on the subject…
http://macscripter.net/faq/applications.php?id=P92

You can do it without opening System Preferences if you define new locations on each machine. Define one location that enables DHCP (call it “IPv4_DHCP”) and then another that disables it and call it “IPv4_no”. Then you can use this script to switch between the two:
set the_location to “IPv4_no” --“IPv4_DHCP”

on switch_location(the_location, return_locations)
	tell application "System Events"
		tell (item 1 of (processes whose frontmost = true))
			tell menu bar 1
				tell menu bar item "Apple"
					tell menu "Apple"
						tell menu item "Location"
							tell menu "Location"
								if return_locations = true then return name of menu items
								click menu item the_location