replacing folders

hi all

This is the second or third time in the last ten years that I have used applescript, therefore I am no expert. I hope this isnt a stupid question, I have read around the subject before posting.

I have the following line of code in my script.

duplicate every item of folder “shake_scripts” of disk “Video” to folder “shake_backup” in disk “Mac HD” with replacing

However, even though I have “with replacing” at the end, the script is still generating an error if it tries to overwrite previously existing folders in the destination. I can copy the contents of my directory to an empty folder with no problem but if i run the script again, it will not overwrite the folders, just the files. I simpl want to regularly back up the entire contents of one folder to another, it seems a very simple thing to achieve.

Model: G5
AppleScript: 1.93
Browser: Safari 312
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

mikemarcus,

This is the script I came up with on my mac. It seems to work alright. It may be a problem with your file path designation. I used the Finder in this script. You don’t have to activate it (and quite possibly not even reference it). Anyway here it goes:

tell application “Finder”
activate
select every file of folder “Test” of folder “Desktop” of folder “admin2” of folder “Users” of startup disk
duplicate selection to folder “ScriptTest” of folder “Desktop” of folder “admin2” of folder “Users” of startup disk with replacing
end tell

You’ll have to define your file path to fit your computer. Hope this helps some.

PreTech

Browser: Safari 125.12

The thing is, i dont want to copy every file to another place with replacing, i want to copy every item. IE: all files and folders in that directory and any files and folders in subdirectories contained within.

the following line works fine:

duplicate every file of folder “shake_scripts” of disk “Video” to folder “shake_backup” in disk “Mac HD” with replacing

what doesnt work is: