Can't make "path name" into type constant.

Hello all.

I’m pretty new to AppleScript and am attempting to create a script to backup networked drives.

I’m able to login to the account, select the folder/files to back up. The error comes when I get here:

set sourceFolder to the path to theStart

I get an AppleScript error stating “Can’t make 'username:folder” into type constant. It won’t run further.

If I use

set sourceFolder to the path of theStart

I get an error stating that "Can’t get path of ‘username:folder:’ ".

Is this something that is fixable, or am I stuck with my poorly-conceived Automator backup workflow?

Thanks for all the help-

-IA

Model: PowerBook G4
AppleScript: 1.10
Browser: Firefox 0.10.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

“path to” works with the following:

What you need to do is run a scriptlet: choose folder. You then navigate to the folder you want and the script will return an alias with the path to the folder you chose. Copy that to your script: set Source_Folder to alias …

*Since your new you might request a script that does your goal outright. Then study it to see how it operates.

About paths in AS:

will only work if you have either
set theStart to “HardDiskName:Path:To:Folder:theStart” where each item between “:” is a folder name (Path: would be one of the folders in the path).
and then state it as
set sourceFolder to theStart
This is called a “hardwired” reference

OR

Set sourceFolder to (choose file) will bring up a promp and you can manually tell AS which folder.

If your using Automator and AS is new to you, again, you might simply request a script with well defined goals and parameters. Then you might end up with something really nice.
SC

theStart is defined through a Prompt already using the following:

display dialog "Do you want to back up a file or folder?
Choose Folder to back up ALL of your files." buttons {"File", "Folder", "Cancel"} default button "Folder"
if button returned of result = "File" then