AppleScriptObjC in Xcode Part 1

Before beginning this tutorial, please read the AppleScriptObjC Release Notes.

Download project source.

I just started playing around with the new AppleScriptObjC framework and I must say this is very cool.
Here is Sal’s description from the release notes.

This takes AppleScript to a whole new level of functionality. In the past our only option to connect to the Cocoa world was through “call method,” which I didn’t care for, and it was confusing and difficult for most to use and understand. It was also limited in the Cocoa methods that were available to it. In addition, AppleScript Studio itself made the verbosity of AppleScript look trivial.

Although the tool we are presented with in Snow Leopard will require AppleScripters to learn some Cocoa, the end result is going to amaze you.

This will be a short tutorial to get you started using AppleScriptObjC in Xcode. We will create a project that has a text field, text view and a button.

To begin with the project will look like this.

Finished App

Here We GO!
Launch Xcode and create a new project. Select “Cocoa - AppleScript Application” and name it whatever you like.

Create a New Project

What You See
This is a full-blown Cocoa application! Awesome! We will be writing our code, for the most part in AppleScript but the application is all Cocoa.

Here is the list a default frameworks that get loaded. There is a tremendous amount of functionality and power here.

AppleScript File
There was one AppleScript file created. Its name is the project name with “AppDelegate” appended to it. Click it to see its code in the editor.

Contents of AppleScript File

The Code
The code is pretty simple but you should notice a few things. The handlers now have and “_” underscore tacked on to the end as well as a parameter. More on this later.