network mount script- notify user of name/password errors

Hi all.

I am quite new to applescript and have a question if it is possible to extend the functionality of the script I am using.

At the moment I am using the script below to handle mounting different password protected network shares around my network.

In all honesty I have somewhat modified a simple script I found kicking about on the web for my own purposes and it seems to work really neatly, but I’d like to notify the user of an incorrect username/password in the event that credentials are incorrectly inputted.

Currently what happens is the finder connect to server dialogue will appear which is annoying. Ideally I’d like my little apple script based connection utility to reply back with an error message and send the user back to the top for a second go.

set user_name to ""
set Dialog_1 to display dialog "Please enter your user name for Cookie Share" default answer ""
set the user_name to the text returned of Dialog_1

set pass_word to ""
set Dialog_2 to display dialog "Please enter your password  for Cookie Share" default answer "" with hidden answer
set pass_word to the text returned of Dialog_2

tell application "Finder"
	try
		mount volume "afp://" & user_name & ":" & pass_word & "@3.9.55.1/"
	end try
end tell

I’ve looked into this as best I can as a complete newbie, but am now struggling to implement it.

you don’t have labels (goto) in applescript but you can use a loop to jump back in code like this:

repeat 3 times --after three attemps you'll stop
	set user_name to ""
	set Dialog_1 to display dialog "Please enter your user name for Cookie Share" default answer ""
	set the user_name to the text returned of Dialog_1

set pass_word to ""
	set Dialog_2 to display dialog "Please enter your password for Cookie Share" default answer "" with hidden answer
	set pass_word to the text returned of Dialog_2

try
		mount volume "afp://" & user_name & ":" & pass_word & "@3.9.55.1/"
		exit repeat
	end try