Sorting files, making folders

Hi there.

I’m kinda new to scripting - but I’m learning eagerly :slight_smile:

I need a little push in the rigth direction for my next project…

Here’s the deal, I have a lot (about 700) images with names like:

A12345-06
A12345-08
A12345-12
B12345-06
B12345-07
B12345-08
C12345-06

The last two digits in the filename refers to a pagenumber.

Now here’s the tricky part (well, tricky for a newbie like myself). I wan’t
my script to make a folder called “Page 01” and put all the files whose name
ends with 01 in there.

Sounds simple, huh? Well, not for me. Any help, script-snippets, pointers to
websites etc., will be extremely appriciated.

Kind regards,
Steen Villumsen

First, what OS are you using? 9 or X?

Second, post the code you’ve written so far so we can not only help you get what you want, but show you why what you have isn’t working. It’s the best way to learn.

I’m on X (10.2.5)

Here’s the code I’m working with:

set sourceDir to "Steen Villumsen:uge14"
repeat with pageNum from 1 to 99
	set pageStr to pageNum as string
	if pageNum < 10 then set pageStr to "0" & pageStr
	tell application "Finder"
		set filesToMove to (every file of folder sourceDir whose name ends with pageStr)
		if (count of filesToMove) > 0 then
			set targetDir to make new folder at sourceDir with properties {name:"Page " & pageStr}
			move filesToMove to targetDir
		end if
	end tell
end repeat

The funny thing is, when I try the script, absolutly nothing happens…

It appears that the script runs (play button in ScriptEditor turns green),
and I don’t get any error-messages.

Regards,
Steen Villumsen

Got it working - extremely cool!

But, when I showed it to my collegues who are going to be using it, some new
issues emerged:

The file-names include file-suffixes, so their name is something like
“A032202.JPG” instead. Furthermore sometimes I have more than a houndred
pages, and the filename will for instance be “A0322102.JPG” if the page is