[NEWB] Moving files to specific folders

Hello all, i am very new to applescript. I worked with it in the past…
But for my database i need to move about 3500 files.

Files with a specific name, that need to be placed in a folder, and then a subfolder with the same name, and then in one of the subfolders.

For example i have Ohio_1997_Example001_Front_FullresThumnail.jpg that needs to be placed in a folder called ALL_PICTURES\Ohio\1997\Example001\jpg

Any idea?

I removed the obsolete versions

Yvan KOENIG (VALLAURIS, France) mardi 8 avril 2014 21:22:40

Thnx…trying to get it work, but i get:
error “ditto: can’t get real path for source” number 1

Maybe i should clarify some things.

I have a main folder, RB_NA with 2 subfolders. JPG and ZOOM. In here are the files that i edited.
The files with a name like for example: Wyoming_2010_Identification Card_AllAges_Default_FrontUV.jpg
has to be placed in another folder: NA_Docs/Wyoming/2010/Identification Card_AllAges_Default/jpg.
And i have to do this for all the States.

It’s your duty to edit the script to match the location of the source files and the location of the destination one.

(1) At this time you said that the source file is named :
Wyoming_2010_Identification Card_AllAges_Default_FrontUV.jpg
This is a filename not a filepath.

As I am not a sooth sayer I can’t guess what is the entire path.
You wrote : I have a main folder, RB_NA with 2 subfolders. JPG and ZOOM.

RB_NA is a folder name, not a folder path

(2) At this time you said that the destination folder is :

NA_Docs/Wyoming/2010/Identification Card_AllAges_Default/jpg.

Must I understand that NA_Docs is the name of harddisk dedicated to the storage of your files or is it, as I guessed, the name of a folder containing the hierarchy : Wyoming/2010/Identification Card_AllAges_Default/jpg ?

You know the answers but I don’t.

Here is a new draft :

# Define the folder in which are stored the files to move