Save and load user‘s ComboBox values

Hi!

I’m looking for a solution which makes it possible for the user to save the current selections of the ComboBoxes in a named file and load them again if the user needs exactly these settings again.

All I found was this: http://macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?id=24606

But as I’m new to scripting at all I’m not sure if
“this is what I have to search for
“this is what I need
“it’s possible at all

I’m using Xcode 5.1.1 on OS X 10.9

Thanks for your help!

That posting was for AppleScript Studio, which is no longer supported. The easiest way to do what you want is to use bindings, and bind the value of each combo box to the Shared User Defaults Controller.

Thanks a lot! I bought your e-book and can now understand much more. Great work!

But I think in this case the User Defaults is not the solutions for me because I want the different combinations of many ComboBoxes’ values to save in different files and load them at a later point.

I managed to write the values of the ComboBox to a .plist. I didn’t use bindings as you suggested because I think they would collide with the Referencing Outlets I use for the same ComboBox in another part of the script. But nevertheless it works out for me so far.
Now I want to load them from the .plist back into the ComboBox respectively set the value of the ComboBox. I expected a line like

set ComboBox1's stringValue() to loadedChoiceComboBox1

could do that. But it seems much more difficult. This is the save/load part of my code (I deleted the many other ComboBoxes):

on saveSettings_(sender)

tell application "System Events"
            -- create an empty property list dictionary item
            set the parent_dictionary to make new property list item with properties {kind:record}
            -- create new property list file using the empty dictionary list item as contents
            set the plistfile_path to "~/Desktop/example.plist"
            set this_plistfile to ¬