Swift in Applescript/Applescript in Swift?

I have an Applescript that does get some values from web pages and store them in a csv file. It now works very smoothly and I am currently teaching myself how to make that into a Cocoa-Applescript application with an interface for input of other variables. Compared to my previous “solution” of taking timed screen grabs, extract the important parts via PS script and run it through an OCR program, Applescript is godsend.

I also have made a Swift project that does a lot of calculations on the same type of values that I get from the Applescript and do I so fast, at least compared to other options I have tried, first Excel and then R (I mean EXTREMELY fast. I have very little coding experience and the basic calculations haven´t changed that much, except for the most obvious. What took 20 minutes in Excel and five in R take four seconds with a compiled Swift program)

So I have two very good solutions to two part of a problem: Applescript to interface with the world and Swift to do a lot of number crushing. What I really want is to merge the two. Preferably “Swift inside Applescript”: have the Applescript do its first part, then call my compiled Swift program with some values and use the returned calculated values for the last part of the Applescript.

Is that doable at all? Yes I know I am not posting any code but my question so far is not so much “how” but if I am trying what amounts to plugging a Display Port cable into the electric socket and I should find another solution instead.

Model: Macbook Air 2011
Browser: Safari 600.1.25
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.10)

Hi,

here are some suggestions: http://macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?id=43127

WAY over my current level of knowledge.:stuck_out_tongue: But thanks :slight_smile:

I might be forced to educate myself enough to be able to implement it in my project. But it looks like it is “Applescript inside Swift” while the ideal situation would be “Swift inside Applescript”.