Is there an easier / faster way to do this...

Appreciate everyone reading and taking the time to help out…

I am writing an AppleScript that matches a telephone number retrieved from the Messages application to the telephone numbers in Contacts in order to retrieve the name of the person who sent the message [as I could not figure out how to retrieve the name of the person directly from within Messages – is there a way?]

The problem with the script is that it takes a very long time to run and, because I am new to AppleScript, I would appreciate any and all assistance as to how:

1. This task can be coded to run faster [i.e. retrieving the name of the person who sent the message from within Messages]; or

2. This script can be coded to run faster [i.e. retrieving the name of the person who sent the message from within Contacts but faster].

The script is as follows:

tell application "Contacts"

set peopleCount to (count every person) -- Determine the number of records to loop through

set testPhoneNumber to "+1 (XXX) YYY-ZZZZ" -- Determine the telephone number to search for.  To be replaced by a handler.

repeat with i from 1 to peopleCount
		set phoneNumber to get value of every phone of person i -- Get all telephone numbers of person i
		if phoneNumber contains testPhoneNumber then
			set peopleName to first name of person i & " " & last name of person i
			set i to peopleCount
		end if
	end repeat

log peopleName

end tell

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Could not test right off but a good thing to do when working on huge lists is to test item 1 and then set the list to rest of it (in this case, it would be the list of every persons) so that item 1 is deleted each time and the list becomes lighter and lighter. Are you with me?
This said, couldn’t tell you wether this trick would speed up your script.

Hi,

you can get the name of the sender this way

tell application "Messages"
	set latestChat to chat 1
	set members to participants of latestChat