Running Window...

A few of the scripts that I have created take 15+ seconds to run depending on the size of the database that they are accessing…as such I would like to create a window that displays “Script running…” ideally with the dots flashing while the script is in fact running.

As I am new to AppleScript I do not know how to do this nor can I find any related information on the net and would thus appreciate any information / insight into this [i.e. this can be done as follows, this can be done by taking at …, this can not be done, etc.].

Thanks in advance as I appreciate all the help!

Basically, no: you cannot display a dialog from a running script, and have the script continue while the dialog stays up.
Blinking dots, or any change at all, cannot be displayed, unless you close and reopen the dialog - you’d really blink the dialog.

That said, there’s another approach here: you run a dummy script application from the working script, and quit it when the main script is done.
While the script runs there will be an icon in the Dock, telling you your script is running.

Also, there are ways to display a progress bar, but I’ve never used them.

Edit:

Check out display dialog and display alert. They’re in Standard Additions.
In recent OS versions there’s also display notification.

If you’re running Yosemite, you can use the progress properties. For example:

set time1 to current date
set progress total steps to 10
repeat with i from 1 to 10
	set progress description to "Processing " & (i - 1) & " of " & 10
	do shell script "sleep 0.5"
	set progress completed steps to i
end repeat
display dialog ((current date) - time1) as text

In an applet, it appears as a dialog with a progress bar. The downside is that the Stop button does just that, with no chance to clean up.

Appreciate the response and will give it go should the code in the immediately preceding post not work as it is closer to what I am looking for…thanks…

Shane: