*New to AppleScript* Converting VBA to AppleScript.

Greetings!

I am new to AppleScript, and i was recommended to this forum. So, I thank you in advance your help!

I created a program/workbook in Excel 2011 using VBA macros. The users of the program consequently use Excel 2008 which does not utilize macros. I have a few buttons on the spreadsheet that perform certain functions. Can someone help guide me to where to start with these? Again, I appreciate any help I can get!!
1.) How do I attach the following code to a button using AppleScript, I’d prefer if it’s the same button as the Macro-button.
2.) If I send this file to another user(with Excel 2008), what would they have to do in oder for the program to work?

My code::

'Check to see if worksheet exits
Public Function SheetExists(ByVal SheetName As String) As Boolean

Dim i As Integer
With ActiveWorkbook
For i = 1 To Sheets.Count
If Sheets(i).Name = SheetName Then
SheetExists = True
Exit Function
End If
Next
SheetExists = False
End With
End Sub
'Send to Summary page
Sub SummaryCells()

Dim ws As Worksheet
Sheets(“Summary YTD”).Select
Sheets(“Data”).Visible = False

For Each ws In Worksheets
If ws.Name Like “Jan” Then
Sheets(“Summary YTD”).Range(“B3:B7”).Value = Sheets(“Jan”).Range(“B3:B7”).Value
Sheets(“Summary YTD”).Range(“B98”).Value = Application.WorksheetFunction.Sum(Sheets(“Jan”).Range(“B98:B102”))
End If
If ws.Name Like “Feb” Then
Sheets(“Summary YTD”).Range(“B3:B7”).Value = Sheets(“Feb”).Range(“B3:B7”).Value
Sheets(“Summary YTD”).Range(“B98”).Value = Application.WorksheetFunction.Sum(Sheets(“Feb”).Range(“B98:B102”))
End If

'This line of code continues through December.

End Sub

Here are links to neat tutorials :

http://bernard.rey.free.fr/ExcelVBA-AppleScript.doc

http://www.mactech.com/vba-transition-guide/index-004.html

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/aa192490(v=office.11).aspx

Yvan KOENIG (VALLAURIS, France) lundi 16 février 2015 21:51:08

Thanks Yvan!!