In need of a script for work

Hello all,

This is my first time posting, I have read the rules but please forgive me if I break etiquette.

I work as a Technology coordinator for an adult learning Center. I have a lot of emails to send out. I need a script that will take email addresses from a Word document and put them into an Apple Mail and into contact Group I only use a Mac at work until I get one for my birthday - so I have never scripted before but if anyone would be so kind as to post the code for this, my bosses and I would appreciate it very much.

Thank you very much,

apple2c1980

This is a relatively simple task. However, you need to either provide an example of what the word document looks like or describe it thoroughly so that people can get you started on a solution.
:slight_smile:

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

The document is extremely simple, it looks like this:

Person’s name [space] xxx@xxx.com (or whatever the e-mail address ends in. They are all different. Where xxx@xxx is the e-mail address)

If you need a copy of the file, please let me know.

Hey There,

So. Only one address per Word document eh? :cool:

Or did you mean there would be one set of per line, and there might be 1 or many lines?

Please be more specific.

Also:

Why are you fooling with a group of recipients in Word instead of putting them into an easily accessible group in Contacts?

It seems like you’re making this job more difficult than it needs to be, but perhaps your process requires this.

If so I think you should post your task step by step, so we can see what it really is and provide the most economical solution.

Hi, thanks for the reply.

I’m sorry the process seems very convoluted, but that’s because the networking and technology resources we have at the Learning Program are SNAFU and FUBAR. I could write a book about how NOT to implement technology for a learning program after working here. I seriously think I may do that at some point!

The file is like this: