Saturday, December 16, 2017
  • Index
  •  » Automator
  •  » Set PDF Metadata not working under Yosemite?

#1 2015-07-23 04:35:45 pm

roosterboy
Member
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 3

Set PDF Metadata not working under Yosemite?

I have several PDF Services plugins set up that use the Set PDF Metadata automator action to allow me to set the name of the saved PDF file. The Title field is checked because that's what I want to fill in. (sample workflow below)

However, when the metadata dialog presents itself, only the Content Creator field is shown. (see below image) Don't want that.
If I check the box and fill in some data anyway, the data doesn't get used. Don't want that either.

So my PDFs get saved with names like 2015-0723 printing.81002.1.pdf instead of something meaningful.

These actions worked like a charm under Mavericks and broke with Yosemite.

Any suggestions?

pdf_service_workflow.png

pdf_service_dialog.png

Model: MBP late 2008
AppleScript: 2.4
Browser: Safari 600.6.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.10)


Filed under: PDF, printservices

Offline

 

#2 2015-07-23 07:04:14 pm

Shane Stanley
Member
From:: Australia
Registered: 2002-12-07
Posts: 5200

Re: Set PDF Metadata not working under Yosemite?

That dialog looks like a victim of auto-layout. As a workaround, when it appears, drag the bottom right corner to resize it -- when you make it deeper, the other fields should reappear.


Shane Stanley <sstanley@myriad-com.com.au>
www.macosxautomation.com/applescript/apps/

Offline

 

#3 2015-07-23 10:32:41 pm

roosterboy
Member
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 3

Re: Set PDF Metadata not working under Yosemite?

Wow, Shane, that was it exactly! I never would have thought of that in a million years. Thanks heaps!

What a pain, though, that I'm going to have to manually resize it every single time.

Offline

 

#4 2015-07-23 10:36:32 pm

Shane Stanley
Member
From:: Australia
Registered: 2002-12-07
Posts: 5200

Re: Set PDF Metadata not working under Yosemite?

roosterboy wrote:

I never would have thought of that in a million years.


That's because you've never seen it happen to your own dialogs smile


Shane Stanley <sstanley@myriad-com.com.au>
www.macosxautomation.com/applescript/apps/

Offline

 
  • Index
  •  » Automator
  •  » Set PDF Metadata not working under Yosemite?

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

RSS (new topics) RSS (active topics)