Script Started by Mail Rule

Another n00b question. From some googling I believe what I’m dealing with is a long-know, and yet never fixed, problem with the Mail app and its interface with scripts run from rules. I’m trying to use Applescript to pull an attachment from messages identified by a rule, store the attachment in a temporary holding directory, and then start a shell script to handling things from there (I’ve been writing *nix shell scripts for 30+ years and Applescript for two weeks, so I do the heavy lifting outside Applescript). The problem is that while this works if I manually highlight the mail message and force rule application things work fine. If I let it handling things automatically, the script fails part-way through.

The script as now configured (using logger to write into the system log file) is: (NOTE: There was an error in the original posted script. I had moved the lines which defined saveFolder and procScript in order to make the code a bit more readable, but in doing so I moved them outside the scope of where they were used, breaking the script. The posted script is now correct, but still doesn’t work.)

--
using terms from application "Mail"
	on perform mail action with messages these_messages for rule this_rule
		do shell script "logger -i At point 1"
		--
		tell application "Mail"
			--
			set the message_count to the count of these_messages
			do shell script "logger -i At point 2"
			set saveFolder to "/Users/jim/var/mailAtch/"
			set procScript to "/Users/jim/bin/r_move-gios-mailAtch"
			--
			repeat with n from 1 to the message_count
				--
				do shell script "logger -i At point 3"
				set this_message to item n of these_messages
				do shell script "logger -i At point 4"
				try
					set msg_id to the message id of this_message
				on error errMsg
					do shell script "logger -i Error at 3->4: " & errMsg
				end try
				do shell script "logger -i Message ID is " & msg_id
				--
				tell this_message
					--