Monday, November 24, 2014

#1 2013-02-25 04:38:20 pm

timl006
Member
Registered: 2013-02-25
Posts: 3

Need Help in Recreating a Window Display Command

Hello all,

I had written a nice Applescript that removes Office 2011 for Mac completely.  Using a shell script, it removes the entire application suite, including all licensing files, fonts and so on.  All user files, however, are left intact.  It works fine but in a move of temporary insanity, I lost my source code, leaving only the "Run Only" version.

sigh.

I have managed to get all the bits working in more or less the same fashion, save for one:  the opening window which explains what the script does.  It's like a dialog only without the annoyances of the standard dialog box.  It has a scroll bar AND is stretchable.

Here is the unstretched version:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B7sg2U6 … sp=sharing

Here is the same image only after stretching the dialog window:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B7sg2U6 … sp=sharing


I am well aware of the usual limitations of "display dialog" and "display alert".  What I can't figure out is how I got around those limitations.  Any ideas as to how I might have achieved this feat?

Offline

 

#2 2013-02-25 05:03:33 pm

Nigel Garvey
Moderator
From: Warwickshire, England
Registered: 2002-11-19
Posts: 3571

Re: Need Help in Recreating a Window Display Command

Hi. Welcome to MacScripter.

You need to save your script as an application, checking the "Startup Screen" option in the "Save As…" dialog.


NG

Offline

 

#3 2013-02-25 05:16:24 pm

timl006
Member
Registered: 2013-02-25
Posts: 3

Re: Need Help in Recreating a Window Display Command

Nigel Garvey wrote:

Hi. Welcome to MacScripter.

You need to save your script as an application, checking the "Startup Screen" option in the "Save As…" dialog.

I guess i wasn't clear.  The problem is NOT how to save my script.  I have no problems with that.  I lost the original because I had failed to make a backup before losing the contents of my drive.

The question is how do I re-generate the dialog box / window shown in the two linked images.  I suspect I was using some kind of addition to the standard suite but am not at all sure.

Offline

 

#4 2013-02-25 06:19:48 pm

Nigel Garvey
Moderator
From: Warwickshire, England
Registered: 2002-11-19
Posts: 3571

Re: Need Help in Recreating a Window Display Command

timl006 wrote:

The question is how do I re-generate the dialog box / window shown in the two linked images.

I guess I wasn't clear. That's exactly what I told you.  wink

Edit: I suppose I should add that the text displayed is whatever you write in AppleScript Editor's Description pane.

Last edited by Nigel Garvey (2013-02-25 06:25:10 pm)


NG

Offline

 

#5 2013-02-26 08:26:29 am

timl006
Member
Registered: 2013-02-25
Posts: 3

Re: Need Help in Recreating a Window Display Command

Aha.  I stand or rather sit actually - I hate typing standing up - corrected.  smile

No wonder I couldn't find an alternative "write" option; it's actually a "save" option!  I have to say that segmenting output options in that way is weird but at least it works.

Many thanks.

PS:  It just goes to show what happens when you don't touch something you've just learned in a while.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Generated in 0.030 seconds, 10 queries executed ]

RSS (new topics) RSS (active topics)