Referencing the current frontmost application window

Hi,

I am trying to write a script which references the current frontmost application window from a script on the Scripts menu. The trouble is when I do, the application “Script Events” becomes the front application, and I am unable to find a script which references my original app, which has now been relegated to second place!

I know it would be easy to reference my app by name ( e.g. tell app “Safari”) , but I need the script to work generically for any frontmost app I am working in.

I suppose I want to re-activate my app to be frontmost again. But how exactly?

Thanks!

Hello,

First of all, I have to confess two things: 1.) I am a newbie scripter myself, and 2.) I don’t fully understand what it is that you wish to do ( also you should probably state what version of Script Editor and OS/X you are currently using). Secondly, are you familiar with what the keystroke combinations Command-tab & and Control-d (assuming you have activated them in System Prefs.) can do for you in terms of application switching? I apologize that I can’t offer you more than the above at the moment and hope that this helps.

Sincerely,

Variable as the shade

Variable,

Thanks for replying. I’m using 10.3.2 and the latest Panther Script Editor.

I do know about these keys, but don’t use them much. I figured that, if I didn’t find a more elegant route, I would have to simulate these keystrokes using “System Events” - but using UI scripting always feels like a bit of a cheat!