Read application specific clipboard item as text

I’m a noob with ApplescriptObjC and I’m struggling to understand how to read non-standard clipboard items.

There’s an item on the clipboard with a type called “com.apple.flexo.proFFPasteboardUTI” (I know this from using the ClipboardViewer from the Apple Developer website). I’d like to get that item and assume it is an ASCII string so that my script can read it (it has some XML elements). After reading some from Shane Stanley’s ‘Everyday AppleScriptObjC’ and googling around a bit, I have this script (which doesn’t work):

use framework "Foundation"
use framework "AppKit"
use scripting additions

on readClipboard(theClipboard)
	set theNSPasteboard to current application's NSPasteboard's generalPasteboard()
	set theClipboard to theNSPasteboard's readObjectsForClasses:({current application's NSPasteboardItem}) options:(missing value)
	return theClipboard as text
end readClipboard

set theClipboard to missing value
its readClipboard:theClipboard

What am I missing?

You can’t assume you can read someone’s proprietary clipboard format. In some cases you can figure it out, but it’s entirely up to the app in question – it’s generally designed for internal consumption only.

It’s unlikely to be an ASCII string, especially if it contains XML. It might be UTF8, but it could also be a property list – you’ll only find out by trial and error. What app is putting it there?

Something like this should get it for you if it’s UTF8:

if (theNSPasteboard's canReadItemWithDataConformingToTypes:{"com.apple.flexo.proFFPasteboardUTI"}) as boolean then
	set theNSData to theNSPasteboard's dataForType:"com.apple.flexo.proFFPasteboardUTI"
	set theNSString to current application's NSString's alloc()'s initWithData:theNSData encoding:(current application's NSUTF8StringEncoding)

If it’s a property list, you could use -propertyListForType:, and see if it returns an array or dictionary.