NSPathControl, User Defaults Maddness

I am not sure if I am just totally new to NSPathControl and/or if the user defaults / preference file functionality has changed in some weird way that I missed.

I want to have a path control on a window that, when a path is selected, it writes that to a preference. I have used the user defaults feature before and it still works with a label for me so I don’t think things have changed. I have the PathCell value bound to the Shared User Defaults Control. It seems when the user selects a value for that it creates a preference file and writes stuff into the plist.

However, when I try setting the default when the app launches, no preference file is created and the preference is not written. Also, if I delete the preference file, the app continues to retain all the bound values as if the preference file was still there… not sure where those are coming from.

Help!

The applicationWillFinishLaunching contains

set recDefaults to {apSXPathToWatch:"Macintosh HD:Users:mark_munro:Desktop:TEST:"}
set defaults to current application's NSUserDefaults's standardUserDefaults()
defaults's registerDefaults_(recDefaults)

I have toyed with converting the path to a URL which seems to be what the path control wants to have but get all sorts of errors. The code above executes but simply does nothing.

Does anyone have any good example of interactions with an NSPathControl, preferably where the values are stored in User Defaults?

You’re not going to have much luck with HFS paths…

I tried POSIX and HFS paths and one other (fileURL or something or other)… problems all around.

My two questions are:

1. How to make NSPathControl link to user defaults (user selects seem to work and stick, setting a path into defaults programmatically is my problem)

2. How to clear values in an app interface that are bound to user defaults when the preference file is deleted. They seem to stick even after rebooting the app, etc.

Here is the “other” thing I tried…