Applescript to compose and send group email- issue with body format

Hello,

So, here’s the goal:

I am trying to make a script that will send an e-mail to all the contacts within a group, but personalize and address each contact with Dear “name here”.
I have successfully completed the task, however, I have a new problem.

Problem:

As of now, the body of the message must be copied and pasted into the script.
However, I would like to have the body have special formatting (font, bold, italics, etc).

How can I best achieve this? Would copying and pasting from a draft email (using keystroke commands, etc) work? If so, how do I do this? I am fairly new to applescript.
Thanks!

--Prompt for attachment--
set theResult to display dialog "Would you like to attach some files to this message?" buttons {"Yes", "No"} default button 1
set wantsAttachment to button returned of theResult
if wantsAttachment is equal to "Yes" then
	set theAttachment to choose file
end if

--Prompt for message subject--
set theResult to display dialog "What would you like the subject of the message to be?" default answer ""
set mySubject to text returned of theResult

--Body of Message [Please replace Message here with body. Add signature at the end of message body, if you so choose]--
set myMessage to "Message Here"

--Alert to select contacts--
display dialog "Please select the recipients in Address Book/Contacts"

--Under the hood, and activation, and send--
tell application "Contacts"
	set theContacts to selection
	repeat with contact in theContacts
		my send_message(mySubject, "Dear " & name of contact & "," & return & return & myMessage, value of first email of contact, return)
	end repeat
end tell

on send_message(theSubject, theBody, theAddress, theAttachment)
	tell application "Mail"
		set theNewMessage to make new outgoing message with properties {subject:theSubject, content:theBody & return & return, visible:true}
		tell theNewMessage
			set visibile to true