A Computer with Personality.. Speakable Scripts

Greetings… I am new to the MacWorld so forgive me… (it rocks BTW)
So this is my first mac… a MacBook… I found the speakable items and I found applescript… woohoo
I want to create a computer with some personality… after much playing with i figured out this little script… nothing special but does part of the job i want…

set Speech_List to {"Your Welcome honey", "gazzuntite", "Yaa, Thats what I thought", "Whatever", "Just Doing my job.", "So, Can I get a raise?", "no no no, Thank [[emph +]]YOU", "Anything for you Daniel", "It's My pleasure", "I Live to but serve you master", "There is nothing i'd have rather done"}
set theNumber to random number from 1 to 11
say (item theNumber of Speech_List)

I named the script “Thank you” and made it speakable… woohoo works great
okay but it’s a bit messy… and it only answers to the exact “Thank you”… if I could change two things it would be

1. I would like to make the phrases she is able to say, come from a text file… so I can enter them line by line in a cleaner way and edit them much easier…
  2. I see while looking for help a command called listen for… maybe with that someway I could make it so she responds to “thanks” and “good job” ect with the same script… but doesnt halt her other listening jobs… anyways if anyone has some ideas it would be great… i’d love to keep at this and eventually get a real personality going…

Later down the line if I can really figure this scripting out… it would be cool to make every response she gives me associated with some points… those points would reflect her mood… and the phrases I say to her have points on them too… so if i get her to angry she wont listen to me and starts getting nasty… so I’ll have to talk sweet to her…
I KNOW its possible to do with applescript… I’v done things like this (well… not really,… but kinda) with MUDs… anyways i’m done…
any ideas?
-Daniel