A few beginner questions...

Hey guys - I’m not new to coding but I’m new to Applescript. I have a working script that does some clean up in my iTunes library, and I’ve been trying to implement a nice little interface for it…and having some trouble:

1. I can get a start button to run my script, but while the script is running the interface seems to freeze up…I can’t even get into menu items etc. How do I avaoid this…does it need to be threaded somehow?

2. My applescript displays a confirmation dialog before it actually runs the loop. When this is displayed in a panel, I can cancel out of it properly. However, if I display the dialog as a sheet instead, it doesn’t wait for me to click OK. (Which means the loop starts and I can’t click OK even if I wanted to, since the interface freezes a la problem 1)

3. I would like some of my checkboxes to be enabled only when certain other checkboxes are selected. Is there an easy way to make this happen through connections? bindings? (I don’t know bindings at all…) or through handlers?

Thanks!

As far as I know, you can’t avoid this (though if exists a way, I’d also like to know it, perhaps some obj-c trick?)

If you use a sheet, then you click OK (if you can), the event will be handled by “panel ended” in your script. So, the behaviour is the expected. The dialog is opened in a sheet, then the script continues. One more time, I don’t know if it does exist a workaround (another trick?)

Well, i have a little workaround i use, you just set a property (ie 0), and make the button set that property to something else (ie 1). Then, you use an ‘on idle’ command, and have that check to see if the property was changed (ie 'if property_name is 1…) . i hope that helps