A rookie's daring project

Greetings MacScripters! Truly a pleasure to be here

I’ll go ahead and start by saying that, as the subject suggests, I am completely new to Applescript. I do, however, have years of experience with OS X itself dating back to Panther, although most of everything I know stems from Tiger. I feel I have a decent understanding of the OS and how to get what I need out of it.

That being said, my colleagues and I are currently in a position where we deal with Macs on a daily basis, and by my colleagues I mean me. I take care of virtually everything Apple related as they prefer not to touch them for fear of the unknown. What I am looking to accomplish here is to provide a very quick and simple way for those other guys to be able to accurately and consistently perform a set of simple set up tasks. Here’s where my Applescript idea comes into play. I would like to create a script or set of scripts that will be launched from a disc to perform the tasks for them (and myself because it’s faster.)

First of all, this is the list of things I would like accomplished by the script so far:

OS X 10.6 running on all Apple desktop and laptop models

** “X” denotes what I figured out, “??” for attempts (and frustrations), and nothing meaning I haven’t looked into it yet**

I’ve spent many hours researching various scripts and guides via Google and so far have come up with this:

--> Sets the Preferences for Finder
tell application "Finder"
	tell Finder preferences
		set desktop shows hard disks to true
		set desktop shows connected servers to true
		set desktop shows external hard disks to true
	end tell
end tell

--> Arranges the desktop icons in a grid
tell application "Finder"
	set arrangement of icon view options of window of desktop to snap to grid
end tell

--> Sets the Appearance settings in System Preferences
tell application "System Events"
	tell appearance preferences
		get properties