A script to se screen saver preferences, ie: which screen saver to use

Hi all

I am a newbie at Apple scripting.
I tried to see if there was a unix command but have come up empty.
I would like to know if there is a script to tell your mac which screen saver to use.
My company has implemented a standard screen saver. I can send the file to each user using ARD but I am not sure how to set each user without going machine by machine.
I see scipts that do everything but what i need.

Any Help would be appreciated
Thanks
Virginia

There’s a preference file for each user that stores their screen saver preference. It’s located in…

~/Library/Preferences/ByHost/com.apple.screensaver.xxxxxxxxxxx.plist

There’s some number for the “xxxxxxxxxxx” part, it’s different for each user and I’m not sure where it comes from. I’m sure somebody here knows though.

I have 2 ideas about this…

1. You can just write that plist file to each user using ARD just like you are going to add the screen saver to each machine. You can set up your machine with the screen saver, that will give you a plist file with the proper settings. Then you just need to add the “xxx” part for each user and copy it to each machine.

or 2. You can figure out the “defaults write” command to add the preference to the plist file and use that to add it for each computer.

Hi regulus,

The “xxxxxxxxxxx” part is the primary MAC-address of the computer, you can get it with

set myMACaddress to words 2 thru 7 of (do shell script "ifconfig en0 ether | grep -i ether" as string) as string

Very good StefanK! I probably should have recognized the number for what it was myself… I must be a little tired today! :smiley:

Hi Virginia,

this is an example to set a screensaver chosen by a list (located in /System/Library/Screen Savers).
I don’t use ARD, so I have no idea to handle it.

tell application "System Events" to if exists process "System Preferences" then quit application "System Preferences"