Acrobat Metadata?

Hi,

I’m new to Apple script and was hoping that I could use it to help with this task I have.

I have a folder full of quark pdf s (they’re named numerically e.g. 3345678.pdf). I also have an excel file with the page sizes and colours of these pdf s.

What is the best way to compare the page size and colour of the pdfs in the folder to the page size and colour report in the excel file? Can I use apple script to automate this? Perhaps extract metadata from the pdf s?

Thanks

J.
OS X 10.4

Depending on what colors you are trying to compare, you may be better off using Illustrator instead of Acrobat, or try reading the raw PDF code.

-N

I was mainly thinking of comparing CMYK to CMYK or Grayscale to Grayscale. No specific colours (green to yellow - not like that). So more like a colour scheme or profile. Thanks for your question, it helped me clarify.

John,

If I remember correctly, in theory a PDF can have objects of different color spaces embedded, so I don’t think there is a color space for the document as a whole. You may want to look into this.

-N

Good point. However, I do run these PDFs through Kodak’s Prinergy Compression program. Among other things, it standardizes the colour to a CMYK or a Grayscale. I’m just trying to find out if I can check the file if it’s colour or bw (CMYK or Grayscale) by using the metadata in the PDF. :slight_smile:

John,

Again, I don’t think there is such a thing as a CMYK document…there are CMYK objects within the document, but the document itself does not have a color. (Not sure about the PDF-X workflows and what info gets included)

Lastly, when you open a PDF now, where in your metadata does it tell you the color mode? I’m still on Acrobat 6, so I may be missing something in newer versions.

-N

Good point, I’m beginning to see what you’re saying. Is there a program that is intelligently able to differentiate between colour and black-white/grayscale documents?

Thanks so much for your input.