Apple Script for Photos in Sonoma to get the name of selected album for an dialog box

I’m looking for help with an Applescript problem for Photos. I’m very new to Applescript and can’t figure out how to solve it.

I would like to create a script that gets the name of the album, which has been selected in Photos (e.g. Holiday 2023).

Next, a dialog window should open up showing this name “Holidax 2023” predefined in the dialog or input field. The name can now be modified manually (to e.g. Holiday 2023.01).

I want to use this Input data for another script.

I would be very grateful for any suggestion or help.

Borima. I looked at the Photos app dictionary and could not find a simple way to do what you want. FWIW, I’ve included below a handler that worked in limited testing on my Sonoma computer. The handler could be slow if the number of photos in the app is large. BTW, it seems like you should be able to get the album directly from a media item, but I couldn’t get that to work.

try
	set theAlbum to getAlbum()
on error
	display dialog "An album containing photos was not found" buttons {"OK"} cancel button 1 default button 1
end try

display dialog "The selected album is:" default answer theAlbum

on getAlbum()
	tell application "Photos"
		set thePhotos to selection
		set thePhotoID to id of (item 1 of thePhotos)
		set theAlbums to every album
		repeat with anAlbum in theAlbums
			set albumPhotos to every media item in anAlbum
			repeat with aPhoto in albumPhotos
				if (id of aPhoto) is thePhotoID then return (name of anAlbum)
			end repeat
		end repeat
	end tell
end getAlbum
1 Like

Many Thanks, this works perfectly for me!

One more question. How to get the number of medias (fotos, videos) within this routine above for this album but get as a result the number of digits? For excampel 10 fotos would lead to 2. 900 Fotos to 3 and so on.