Apple script not working to copy a file to a mounted network folder

Hi everyone, my first post :cool:. I am very new to applescript and I need help. This is actually very urgent help for someone starting a small business.

I have a script that works if I copy a file from one directory to another but only on a local computer. If I modify the script to copy the file to a mounted network folder I get an error. "Can’t set “SCOTT:Users:SCOTT:Documents” to file “112:Users:Scott:documents:test.MOV”

Working code

set source to "112:Users:Scott:Documents:test.MOV"
set destination to "112:Users:Shared"
tell application "Finder"
duplicate file source to destination
end tell

Not Working code

set destination to "SCOTT:Users:Scott:Documents"
end tell

The script is run from an iMac G3 OSX 10.3.9 called AMOS-Room 202 with volume 112 as its only storage drive. Remote apple events is turned on :smiley:
On AMOS-Room202 I am logged in as account Scott and have mounted and authenticated volume SCOTT which is through a network server connection to a G4 OSX 10.2 computer named David Farley’s Computer which I am also logged in as account Scott and remote events is also turned on.:smiley:

My request for assistance is more conceptual in nature. The source and destination paths are not critical, I just want to understand how this is done and achieve some working code. I think it has something to do with the path syntax going to the SMB mounted drive.

You could have 2 problems. First this line…

“destination” is just a string (even though it represents the path to a folder). The Finder doesn’t understand strings as paths to files/folders. So just put the keyword “folder” in front of it to make it correct. Notice that you put the keyword “file” in front of “source”, and you need to add the keyword with destination too.

duplicate file source to folder destination

Understanding what I just said, I don’t think the code you posted as “working” really works because it has the same problem.