apple script type reference error -1700

Hey guys,
I am an absolute newbee to Applescript, xcode and applescript studio. I am a student researcher, in meta genomics. I have lots of perl scripts that I would like to put together in a nice stand alone software when user enters some config info, and then select a file (fasta file format or xml file) and the package will do its magic instead of me running 10 different perl scripts one after the other. So I have started working on it. My first task is just to get user to enter some server info, and make sure that I can connect to the server using my UI and ssh in the back end. I have set up the UI, and wrote some code using the guide from MacScripter and examples from xcode itself.

I have two problems right now. After I enter my info the the text field i get an error “Can’t make contents of «class texF» “blastServerAddress” into type reference. (-1700)” I have no idea what it means. My script is very similar to that of “Currency converter” script. I have attached my code below please help. Also not so urgent by quite annoying thing is I can’t figure you how to control to “tab” setting for the fields, that is after i type in some filed if I hit the tab key I want to specify with is the next text field to jump to.

Using xcode version 2.4.1, intel macbook 2.0ghz

I have be banging my head and looking for answer for quite some time, please help.

Thanks
Jaysheel.

on clicked theObject

-- 	try

if the name of theObject is equal to "blastTest" then
		set theAdr to contents of text field "blastServerAddress"
		set theUser to contents of text field "blastUserName"
		set thePass to contents of text field "blastPassword"
	end if

display dialog theArd

if sAdr is equal to "" then
		display dialog "Must enter server address"
		set valid to false
	else if sUser is equal to "" then
		display dialog "Must enter username"
		set valid to false
	else if spass is equal to "" then
		display dialog "Must enter password"