AppleScript and Airport power

I was wondering if anybody has had any luck turning the power to an internal Airport card (on a Powerbook) on and off using AppleScript. I know that there’s some Airport-related content in the Internet Connect dictionary (AirPort configuration, AirPort power), but I can’t figure out how to actually toggle the power to the card. I guess it would be OK to use GUI scripting too, but I’m pretty new to this, and I’m not sure how to access the Airport menulet on the menu bar.

If you don’t know the answer but are interested in looking, I’ve found a little information in the Internet Connect dictionary, and a little bit on accessing some AirPort related info (e.g., signal strength) in “AppleScript, The Missing Manual” (O’Reilly). There is a very small thread at ars technica that posed the same question, but there was no answer there, either…

Thanks.

–Mike

This should work:

my toggle_AirPort_power()

on toggle_AirPort_power()
	tell application "Internet Connect"
		set AirPort power of AirPort configuration 1 to (not (get AirPort power of AirPort configuration 1))
	end tell
end toggle_AirPort_power

However, it doesn’t on my Mac OS X 10.4.3 machine and, if I recall correctly, scripting Internet Connect in this way has been broken for the last several years (see http://bbs.applescript.net/viewtopic.php?id=5751). GUI scripting may be the only way to go (though I suspect there is a command line tool that may do this).

Jon

The only one I know of “ networksetup “ only comes with OS X Server.

Edit: Set system and network prefs from the Terminal

Thanks – I can verify that the AppleScript above doesn’t work on my 10.4.2 system either (I was hoping that you were implying that the 10.4.3 update broke it, but no luck there!). I get a NSInternalScriptError when it tries to set the AirPort power, which sounds like what happened in the linked forum post.