Applescript automatization?

Hi guys.

First of all, I’m not a programmer. I’m just a photo manager that have a few employees making photos everyday for a lot of newspaper. I tray Automator a few times and realize that Automator not making a good job (it crash’s a lot of times or simply “forget” to repeat the tasks if a new file comes when it still running).

Searching on the net, I find lot of informations about Applescript, but none for my specific problem. And the books are too big to read in a few days and solve the problem before next year (increasing work demand for next year and more employees).

The problem is: We have a lot of photographers sending photos every minute of the day (24/7). Every photographer have they own directory in a specific FTP server and I have to check, constantly, for new photos in this FTP mounted in my Mac as a WebDAV (could be a Dropbox folder too, if became easier). When new photos come, I have to move each photo to a new folder, rename it to photographer name + original file name (like johndoe_dsc_0001.jpg), run a Exiftool command (bash command) to correct some informations and copy to another ftp server (mounted as well) to the web guys make it public. In addiction, generated a log file with the uploaded files and send it by mail to photographers (so they can know what photo is online).

So, what I need to make a better job (could be separated scripts for each folder) is:

1. On system startup, I mount a WebDAV (I can do this with Automator).
  2. Monitoring the WebDAV folders for new files and move only the jpg files to a temp folder.
  3. Rename the files in temp folder to “folder name_original name”.
  4. Run Exiftool only in this files (the temp folder is just to correct the IPTC Codes with Exiftool).
  5. After corrected with Exiftool, move this files to a backup folder.
  6. Make a copy of new files on backup folder to a mounted ftp server and generated a log file with the uploaded files.