AppleScript - Automator Simple FTP Solution

Running MAC OS X 10.6
I’m fairly new to MAC’s I’ve owned a IMac for about 6 months and a Macbook Air for 5 days. That’s it.
I have past limited programming experience in Basic and Visual Basic and writing batch files under windows and dos. I’m really a NOOB at Mac programming and scripting. I’m in real estate not a programmer or a tech guy.
I spent hours of research trial & error on this, so I thought I’d post my findings.

I have one database file and I need to have a copy uploaded to an FTP server periodically.
The user who enters data into the database is not very computer literate so I needed a very simple way that they could click a single icon on the desk top and the file would automatically upload. I did not want the user to have to open an FTP client, navigate finder to locate the database file, login to the FTP server, etc. Needed to be a one click idiot proof solution. The database file name and location would not change.

Obviously MAC’s own Finder actions in AppleScript will not work since Apple only supports download from an FTP site (why they limited this I don’t know). The download actions via AppleScript work well. Just won’t upload. Only took this NOOB about 3 hours to discover this…

Several people suggested curl. Way over my head for a NOOB.

Tried URL Access Scripting. Played with this for about 4 hours, using examples from this forum, never could get it to work. Might be a OS version issue. Don’t know.

Tried down loading CyberDuck and writing a script to control it. No Joy.