Applescript for opening multiple text files copying and then pasting into a single in Excel the repeat

Hi there,

I am a newbie and need help with setting applescript to open text files copy the contents then paste into an excel cell the repeat in with the next text file and paste into a new cell in excel etc… until all the text files content has populated the excel cells.

Any advice would be magnificent.

Steve

Do you have samples of the text files. How big are they? How many rows and columns? Where do you want the second file’s data pasted after the first was finished? etc…

The more specific examples you give, the more we can help.

Thanks for taking your time to reply. I am basically being given pdfs that contain information for VCard.vcf. This information of around 10 lines is then turned into text file. This then needs to be pasted into excel cell where I have already set up formulas in excel to do the rest. The excel document will then be uploaded to a server to generate dynamic qr codes

Hi Did you find a solution? do you still need help?

Hi there,

So far I have got this working.

set theFile to “/Users/steve.vidler/Desktop/pdf to excel test/text/10.txt”

set theText to read theFile

set newName to text 1 thru -5 of name of (info for theFile)

tell application “Microsoft Excel”

activate

set value of cell 10 of column 1 to theText

end tell

So it opens up the path to the text file, copies it and then pasted it into row 1 column 1.

I can replicate this code 150 times and renmae the txt files to sequential numbering, but I am pretty sure I could repeat and increment the numbers.

how many lines are there is a single text file. After you paste it, where do you paste the second file in relation to the first file? i.e. specific row or column

i have managed to bodge the script so it now is working, probably a simpler way of doing it but I just incremented the numbers up to 150 and changed the .txt number and the cell number. It’s huge but it works.