Applescript in Excel 2008

Hi,

I am trying to use applescript to save an excel worksheet as a pdf. I looked on microsoft’s Excel2004AppleScriptRef.pdf file. This guide is obviously for Excel 2004. I could not find one for 2008. In the guide, I saw the “save as” command had all the possible file types listed. Unfortunately, pdf was not listed.

I will take any kind of work-around (be it with applescript or with automator) to save this file as a pdf. I have tried using automator, BUT I need the filename to change with each time the script is run.

So, my goal is:

1. save the active worksheet in an excel file as a pdf in a folder on the desktop.
  2. each time, have the filename change. (but still put in the same folder)

Can anyone help? I am new to applescript, but not new to coding in general. (I would have been able to do this in VBA in about 10 minutes…alas, I cannot use it.)

-Justin

surely, you will get what you want. Someone in this forum will help you within a few minutes.
just want you to know, you can use http://www.codepoetry.net/projects/cups-pdf-for-mosx

and you can change output location in “cups-pdf.conf” file

Did you find out how to do this? I’ve been trying to do the same thing.
All I got up 'till now is to save the workbook as PDF, then you get 1 PDF for every sheet.

As a workaround I guess you could just delete all the sheets you don’t want, then save the workbook.
You can do that like this:

tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	activate
	open ((path to desktop as text) & "thefile.xls")
	set display alerts to false -- if you don't want Excel to ask for confirmation of deleting
	delete sheet 1 -- sheet number or sheet name
end tell

The biggest workaround would be to save the workbook as PDF, then delete all the PDF’s you don’t want.
But I really hope there’s a better way.

Any help on this subject?

Thanks.

I can’t figure out how to specify the file name.
The Print To File agrument of PrintOut is not supported.

You could use this