Applescript not working since Snow Leopard

Hi,
I am sorry to say I am not a programmer at all. But from the past I know that I can get help in this forum.

In 2005 I posted in this forum that I need to move files based on the first 10 chars of their filename to folders named to these 10 chars (http://macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?id=13794)

So for the last years I have used this Script with success:

property photos_source_directory : “iMac_HD:Users:christian:!My Photos:Foto_Upload:Neu_und_unsortiert”
property photos_destination_directory : “iMac_HD:Users:christian:!My Photos:Foto_Upload:Sortiert_nach_Datum”

tell application “Finder” to set theFiles to files of alias photos_source_directory

repeat with thisfile in theFiles
tell application “Finder”

set thisfilename to thisfile as string

set x to length of the photos_source_directory
	set y to length of the thisfilename

-- Länge des Dateinamens überprüfen		
	if (x + 23) = y then
		set day_directory to characters (x + 1) thru (x + 10) of the thisfilename as string

if folder named day_directory in folder photos_destination_directory exists then
			-- do nothing
		else
			set pub_date_folder to make folder in folder photos_destination_directory
			set name of pub_date_folder to day_directory
		end if

move thisfile to folder day_directory of folder photos_destination_directory replacing yes

end if

end tell

end repeat

Now with Snow Leopard it does not work at all. :frowning:

Can you please help or point me to a direction where I can continue …

Thanks,
Christian

Hi,

this should work also in Snow Leopard

property photos_source_directory : "iMac_HD:Users:christian:!My Photos:Foto_Upload:Neu_und_unsortiert:"
property photos_destination_directory : "iMac_HD:Users:christian:!My Photos:Foto_Upload:Sortiert_nach_Datum:"

tell application "Finder" to set theFiles to name of files of folder photos_source_directory

repeat with thisfile in theFiles