Applescript or Automator to create Keynote presentation from text file

Newbie here. Thanks for looking.

I need to import a text file (consisting of subtitles) into a Keynote presentation. I need to turn each subtitle into a single slide, interspersed with blank (black) slides. I’d like to create an Automator action in order to do this.

I think the way to do this is to filter paragraphs ending in two line breaks, but I don’t know how to do it.

Thanks a lot for any guidance.

Hi Silks,

Using code I once found on the internet, I wrote a sample script for you, which might point you in the right direction. Please note that scripting Keynote is not easy. I tested the script with Keynote 4.0.3 on Mac OS X 10.5.5.

set filepath to ((path to preferences folder from user domain) as Unicode text) & "com.apple.mail.plist"
set contlines to paragraphs of (read (filepath as alias))
tell application "Keynote"
	launch
	-- activate
	set allthemes to name of appThemes
	set usetheme to choose from list allthemes
	if usetheme is false then return
	set usetheme to usetheme as Unicode text
	-- other slide size...
	-- {800, 600},{1024,768},{1280,720},{1680,1050},{1920,1080},custom...
	set themeprops to {theme:usetheme, slideSize:{800, 600}}
	set newslideshow to make new slideshow at end of slideshows with data themeprops
	repeat with contline in contlines
		tell newslideshow
			set newslide to make new slide
			tell current slide
				set body to contline
			end tell
			-- insert black slide
			set newslide to make new slide
		end tell
	end repeat
end tell

thanks, martin, for taking the time to answer!
the script isn’t quite there yet, but it’s a step in the right direction.
first of all, why does it use my mail prefs file? did you just choose it arbitrarily?
that aside, there are several larger issues: