Applescript Programming to Write from Numbers Column to TextEdit

Hello,

I am new to Applescript and have run into a problem. I currently have an add in to Microsoft PowerPoint that records the time of each slide change and the title of the slide, then exports this to a .csv fil. My goal is to have this data be inserted into an FCPXXML file to display each slide change as a marker. Currently I have a script that will create a Numbers spreadsheet, convert the data to the proper format for FCPX and adds the XML. These sit in a spreadsheet with one row for each slide change and columns for Time, Title, Time Conversion (rippling the markers and converting to the format for FCPX) and, finally the XML. I want to now select the FCPXXML file and have it replace one marker (each xml file will have one marker inserted before export from FCPX) with the correct number of PowerPoint slides. I can have it remove the the marker reference, but I can’t get it to insert each line of the column as text. I have tried a number of options, but none have given me the correct output.

The workflow would be:

1. Select XML File
  2. XML file is searched for phrase <marker start=
  3. Phrase is replaced by the contents of every row in column E with a return between row

I am wracking my brain, if anyone could offer assistance I would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Hi. Welcome to MacScripter.

I don’t see any mention of TextEdit in your question. Perhaps you were thinking of editing the XML text in it. But in fact that’s not necessary ” unless you particularly want to, of course. The script below formats the contents of column E of a Numbers spreadsheet into a return-delimited text and substitutes this for your marker phrase in the XML file. As written, it uses a ‘choose file’ dialog to identify the file, but presumably you’ll already have this from earlier in the process.

set markerPhrase to "<marker start="

tell application "Numbers"