Applescript syntax for Illustrator 10?

I am very new to applescript, but need to be able to fill circles and apply pattern swatches to rectangles in Illustrator via the applescript.

Does anyone know the proper syntax for that?

I would greatly appreciate any help!
:?: [/b]

Hi,

AS is hard enough that we’d want to know what the jumping off point would be for these syntax examples. What sorts of documents do you have? Are you opening them by hand or by script? Better to provide too many details than not enough. Otherwise, when I read your message I think, ‘Well, this is an open ended question. I’d better provide lots of examples and explanations and other infrastructure for understanding. But at the same time, I’ll be shooting in the dark, so I still might miss. Plus, I’m not confident at all that Yvon is going to be able to put all my effort to good use, since she’s a beginner and I don’t know what she’s doing exactly.’

Since posting the first message, I have figured out how to draw and fill circles. However I am still running into problems with the fill patterns and swatches. I have purchased several books, but they lack actual examples of syntax. So far, I have the following:

set obj to make new rectangle in mydoc with properties ¬
{bounds:{xgl, glh, glw, ygl}}
set fill color of path item 1 of document 1 to {pattern:pattern 1 of document 1}

I receive an out of memory message and Illustrator shuts down. I’m only trying to apply a very simple pattern to a relatively small rectangle.

The whole point of this script is to take data from a very large excel file and generate reports in illustrator in order to save a lot of time, as these are now being made individually.

I have programmed in several languages before, however this is my first experience with applescript. Any other language has books full of examples of syntax, but applescript has dictionaries that are very vague to beginners and do not provide any clues to actual syntax.