applescript timer

i am new to scripting but I’m love it so far.
any way i was foxing to wright a script do keep my desktop clean so i wont it to move things from my desk top into a temp fail when they get added but i don’t wont it to move them right away. but i can not find out how to have it count down then move the files. thanks for your help

Man,
this requires a severe investigation which files you want to collect and where to move. Furthermore, you have to organize your home folders (in which i suggest you to put your items) with a GTD-method to avoid, that the files you collect aren’t stored as garbage but for review, validate, collect, ect, ect.

you can try to collect items on the desktop, for the beginning. Like:

--define your search
set search_str to the text returned of (display dialog "Enter search term" default answer "")
tell application "Finder"
	try
		set input to make new folder at desktop with properties {name:"Collection"} --create a generic folder
	end try
	set input to folder "Collection" of desktop
	--collect files
	set the_ls to {}
	repeat with a in desktop
		set a to (a as alias)
		if (name of a as text) starts with search_str then copy a to end of the_ls
	end repeat
	--move files
	repeat with i in the_ls
		move (items of desktop whose name begins with search_str) to input
	end repeat
end tell

Furthermore, you can attach this script as folder action script to your desktop. In this case, you’ve to add

on adding folder items to this_f after receiving added_items
--your script
end adding folder items to 

Good luck!