Applescript to add up all numbers in a Text File?

Hello!

I am new to applescript and was wondering if someone can assist me with an applescript.

I have a large text file and in this text file is a bunch of texts, but also number characters. All I want to do is have an applescript literally go through the text file and add up all the numbers and give me a total.

Is that possible?

It would save me a lot of time. :smiley:

Thanks a lot!

Hi,
and welcome!
Well, not everything is so easy to script as one can mean. Before somebody helps you in your research, consider to be more precise; like:

-scripting which Application ? (consider to use TextWrangler instead of Textedit, if you work on large text files)
-whats your intention at the very end? count the pages of your document ?

Joy,

Wow, that was fast. Thanks.

Yes, I have text wrangler.

The purpose of this is that I receive several txt files that have a lot of text in them and numbers. All I want to do is have an applescript to add up (i.e. a total) the numbers that are located in the entire text. I get these txt files every week and I have to sift through them manually and count up the figures that are in there.

If you can help me then that will be great. If there is no way that a script can do this, then I guess I will have to keep doing this every week. :o

Phil

Joy,

Wow, that was fast. Thanks.

Yes, I have text wrangler.

The purpose of this is that I receive several txt files that have a lot of text in them and numbers. All I want to do is have an applescript to add up (i.e. a total) the numbers that are located in the entire text. I get these txt files every week and I have to sift through them manually and count up the figures that are in there.

If you can help me then that will be great. If there is no way that a script can do this, then I guess I will have to keep doing this every week. :o

Phil

Hi Phil. Welcome to MacScripter.