AppleScript to paste highlighted text into textedit

I am a complete newbie. I am trying to make it very easy to take notes off documents and websites. My goal is to write a script that will allow me to highlight text in a webpage, or document, etc and then use a hotkey to copy that text, paste it into textedit, have text edit hit the return key twice (to create a space between each selection), and return to the original document.

so far i have this:

tell application "System Events" to tell text area 1 of scroll area 1 of front window to if exists then
	set {x, y} to value of attribute "AXSelectedTextRange"
	if x ≤ y then keystroke "c" using {command down}
end if
activate application "TextEdit"
tell application "System Events"
	tell process "textedit"
		keystroke "v" using {command down}
	end tell
end tell

this gets me to paste the text, but i can’t figure out how to have it "return"x2 and i don’t know how to get back to the original application. further, i don’t know how to set it up so i can have a hotkey combination activate this script (something like cmd+fn+c). any and all help will be vastly appreciated. THANK YOU

Sean

tell text area 1 of scroll area 1 of front window of front process to if exists then
		if x ≤ y then keystroke "c" using {command down}
	end if
end tell

tell application "TextEdit"
	launch
	tell front document to set it's text to it's text & (the clipboard) & (ASCII character 10) & (ASCII character 10)
end tell

That TextEdit part should help you out. I’m a little confused by the first part though; You are putting stuff into TextEdit even if there isn’t a text area or selected text.

You might be interested in FastScripts.

Thanks a lot!

but the ascii character 10 part didnt seem to work…
this is what i have now:

tell application "System Events" to tell text area 1 of scroll area 1 of front window to if exists then
end if
tell application "System Events" to keystroke "c" using {command down}
	tell process "textedit"
	end tell
end tell