Applescript won't complete when idle

Hey folks, I have a strange problem. Im an administrator for a company and set an applescript to run at night on everyones computer. Theyre all using 10.4.11. Some intel, some PPC. The problem is the script works perfectly if I run it manually, but if it triggers on its own at night after the machine has been idle, I find this message: “AppleEvent timed out.” The energy saver settings are set to never sleep, and for the hard drives to not spin down. Heres the script…anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance…

set countdown to 300
repeat countdown times
	tell me
		activate
		display dialog "YOUR COMPUTER WILL BE SHUTDOWN IN " & countdown & " SECONDS UNLESS YOU CLICK DO NOT SHUT DOWN!" giving up after 1 buttons {"DO NOT SHUT DOWN!", "OK, Please Shut Down now"}
		if button returned of result is "DO NOT SHUT DOWN!" then
			error number -128
		else if button returned of result is "OK, Please Shut Down now" then
			exit repeat
		end if
		set countdown to countdown - 1
	end tell
end repeat

tell application "System Events" to shut down

Hi,

the only line, which can cause the timeout is the “System Events” line.
I guess, there are some open documents left, and to shut down the computer via System Events asks the user to close the documents.
If nobody responses within 2 minutes, the error occurs.
Using the shell command shutdown avoids this problem.

set countdown to 300
repeat countdown times
	tell me
		activate
		display dialog "YOUR COMPUTER WILL BE SHUTDOWN IN " & countdown & " SECONDS UNLESS YOU CLICK DO NOT SHUT DOWN!" giving up after 1 buttons {"DO NOT SHUT DOWN!", "OK, Please Shut Down now"} cancel button "DO NOT SHUT DOWN!"
		if button returned of result is "OK, Please Shut Down now" then exit repeat
	end tell
end repeat

do shell script "shutdown -h now" password "¢¢¢¢¢¢" with administrator privileges

Note: If you specify the Cancel button, you can omit the error -128 part