Appleworks Link to speak a message?

Hi there,

I’m a newbie to Applescripting.

Under OS-X, I’d like to make a “Hot Word” in an appleworks-6 word processing document. When you click on this word, the computer will speak the phrase “YES” or “NO” For instance:

How many days in a week?
   5    <--computer says "NO" if you click on this number
   7    <-- computer says "YES" if you click on this number
   8    <-- computer says "NO" if you click on this number

Perhaps I can do this entirely in Appleworks, but I can’t figure that out. Should I be using applescript? If so, what would it look like? And how would I link my Appleworks word processing document to the applescript?

MANY THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP!
=Cliff

type /say under each option so …
/say “NO”
or wutever …
hope i helped a little
but this is applescript … so … maybe it will work with a macro … doub it

Hi,

Where do you type:

/say “NO”?

Under what option?

Thanks,

Hi,

I haven’t figured out what Ugrax meant yet, so here’s another way?

In AppleWorks, create a Internet link. So for your text:

How many days in a week?

select say the “5”. You then create an Internet link and for the url use a local file url like:

“file:///Users/kel/Desktop/AW_Script”

Here AW_Script is a script application on my desktop with the statement:

say “no”

Now when you hit the “5” link, it will run the script application AW_Script. The bad part about this is that AW_Script is an app and will show in the dock. You can make it not show up as a running app by making the script app background only.

Another trickier way is to have AppleWorks open a Compiles Script and run it through a script runner. The script runner would be background only and you wouldn’t need to have a bunch of background only script apps, just one.

gl,

Hi,

I don’t know if you’re still following this thread, so here’s a quick idea of another way to do this.

It uses Play Sound:

http://microcosmsoftware.com/playsound/