AS for indesign export presets?

Greetings all,

I’ve been trying to make a script that will create a PDF doc simply by dropping an .indd onto it. I’ve got some presets in my indesign export that I would like to have separate scripts for. But I can’t seem to get it right. I’m a novice in Applescript, though eager to learn. Can anyone help me?

thnx in advance

Hi there,
if you save this script as an application and drop your Indesign file on it it will print the file using your specified print preset.

on open thefile
	tell application "Adobe InDesign CS2"
		activate
		open thefile
		print active document using "A4_to_Mosaic_PDF" without print dialog
		tell active document to save
		tell active document to close
	end tell
end open

:lol:

Thnx m8! Is it possible to create a hotfolder for it? I mean like: drop the .indd doc into the folder and it generates the desired PDF?

I’m beginning to love AS!

?

Weird, the script opens InDesign CS alright but then it stops and gives me the following message:

<> of application “InDesign CS” doesn’t understand the print message

I guess this is because I’m using Adobe InDesign CS instead of CS2, I’m hopeless behind in apps I know, but is it possible to adept the script to CS?

I’ve tried to do this myself, see my attached script

on open thefile
	tell application "InDesign CS"
		activate
		open thefile
		print active document using "LeesPDF" without print dialog
		tell active document to save
		tell active document to close
	end tell
end open

Hi rangata,
this should do the trick for CS!

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving added_items
	repeat with i from 1 to the number of items of added_items
		set thisitem to item i of added_items
			activate
			open thisitem
			print document 1 using "CHOT_to_Mosaic_PDF" without print dialog
			tell document 1 to save
			tell document 1 to close
		end tell
	end repeat
end adding folder items to

Save this into the Folder Action Scripts folder and attach it to your folder.