ASCII to trigger itunes songs in a specific folder

Hi all

This is my 1st post.
I am a complete newbie to applescript and my question is probably very very basic to many of you. <good hopefully I will get a reply :wink:

I simply want to trigger specific songs (say 4) in a specifc itunes folder, via chosen ASCII I assign.

How do I go about doing this. Does script editor have to be on?

Hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks in advance

phil

Hi Phil and welcome,

there is no way to assign a shortcut to a script without any external tool.
You can do it with QuicKeys, Butler, FastScripts, QuickSilver and there are probably a few more.

Of course you can play any song in iTunes with AppleScript.
The origin philosophy of iTunes is, that the user needn’t care about folders and paths.
It’s much easier to refer to the song by title or playlist

Hi Phil and welcome,
thanks

You can do it with QuicKeys, Butler, FastScripts, QuickSilver and there are probably a few more.

I’ve had a quick look @ FastScripts and Quiksilver but wasn’t able to do what I wanted. :expressionless:

Of course you can play any song in iTunes with AppleScript.
It’s much easier to refer to the song by title or playlist

That’s fine but can I trigger them each specific one w. the keyboard?

The reason I want this is for “Panic escape” in a live show. More specifically, I have a show coming were we do real-time audio/visual crowd captures as our source material and we’re accompanied by a dancer. And as everyone knows, computer software do crash once in a while. This while could be live. So, if it ever were the case I would want an “escape panic” pre-recorded track to be triggered w. an ASCII in itunes while I restart the software. <the way I programmed my software (max msp), the “data” or soundfiles would not be lost and could reloaded in the samplers. < anyways this an complete other topic :wink:

Thanks for you reply and I hope to here from you soon.

phil