Automate iChat invitation

Hi all

I am a newb to Apple Script and I am currently working on a project which requires two computers to be in an iChat audio conversation for a set amount of time.

I have two mac minis both running Leopard.

I have set one to AutoAccept an incoming audio invitation via the iChat prefs pane. This works very well.

At this point I am trying to get the other Mac mini to:

Select the buddy in the buddy list
Send an audio invitation

I can see from the AppleScript Library for iChat that this would be a possibility but I don’t know how to write the code. I could set up the CRON tab on both machines to start and stop the scripts as necessary.

I set up a keyboard shortcut to automatically send an audio invitation, perhaps it might be as simple as triggering this keystroke in an AppleScript. Is there a simple method for doing this?

The reason I am doing this is for an art project which allows two spaces to be aurally connected.

Any help/advice would be much appreciated
Best wishes
J

Model: Mac mini - Leopard
AppleScript: 2.2
Browser: Safari 525.13
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

Further to my comments earlier I have come up with this. But AppleScript thinks the ‘i’ is an undefined variable.

tell application "iChat"
	activate
	tell application "System Events"
		tell process "iChat" to set frontmost to true
			keystroke using control down & command down & option down & i
		end tell
	end tell
end tell

Also I did try and use the System Events to choose the particular menu item in iChat.

I figured it would be item 11 of menu “Buddies” but it wouldn’t trigger the invite. Here is what the script looked like.

tell application "iChat"
	activate
		tell process "iChat" to set frontmost to true
		tell process "iChat" to click menu item 11 of menu "Buddies" of menu bar 1
	end tell
end tell