Automatic image filing by name

Hi everyone,

I am not sure if this forum is only for applescript or not my questions is more about bash shell in which case my question is rather inappropriate unless someone can think of an elegant solution in Applescript, which would be great.

I am pretty new to scripting and i was wondering if anyone could help me out.

Here is the situation. I am trying to make an action folder that when an image is saved to it, the image is automatically moved to a folder based upon the first 4 or 5 integers of the name.

image names come in a few variations for example:

1000.jpg
10000.jpg
10000-v1.jpg
10000-v1 copy.jpg

any of the first 4 or 5 integers can be from 0-9.

this is the code i came up with so far.

tell application "Finder"

do shell script " if [ -f ~/Desktop/filing/1[0-9][0-9][0-9][!0-9]*.jpg ]
then
scp ~/Desktop/filing/1[0-9][0-9][0-9][!0-9]*.jpg ~/Desktop/filed/1000/
fi"

do shell script "if [ -f ~/Desktop/filing/1[0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][!0-9]*.jpg ]
then
scp ~/Desktop/filing/1[0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9][!0-9]*.jpg ~/Desktop/filed/13000/
fi"

end tell

the trouble with this code is the wildcard [!0-9] wont work if the image is just 1000.jpg or 10000.jpg as having the [!0-9] means that it is excluding 0-9 range but expecting a character of some sort.

Anyway if anyone could shed some light on a solution to this that would be great.

Kai

Hi Kai. Welcome to MacScripter.

It’s certainly OK to ask here about things which are accessed from AppleScript, such as a shell script run with the ‘do shell script’ command. :slight_smile:

I’m not a shell expert, but the following forms seem to work for the actual copying. They don’t return true in ‘if’ conditions, though.

It’s not necessary to tell the Finder to run a shell script.

do shell script "scp ~/Desktop/filing/1[0-9][0-9][0-9]{,[!0-9]*}.jpg ~/Desktop/filed/1000/"

do shell script "scp ~/Desktop/filing/1[0-9][0-9][0-9][0-9]{,[!0-9]*}.jpg ~/Desktop/filed/13000/"