Bad info from Internet Connect through Applescript?

Hey all, I’m new to Applescript, but I think I finally banged out what I wanted and I don’t think I’m getting back the right information. Maybe you all can help.

What I want to do:
Get the current Base Station ID from AirPort configuration through Internet Connect in Applescript.

What’s happened so far:
Can query Internet connect for the AirPort configuration, like so:

tell application "Internet Connect"
	properties of current configuration of application "Internet Connect"
end tell

I should note here that my AirPort card is on, and connected to my home network…if it was not, I could not be sending this post right now. It has a strong wireless signal, shows a base station ID, etc. However, when I run the script, the results window shows the following:

{network name:missing value, network type:0, AirPort power:false, class:AirPort configuration, name:“AirPort”, signal level:0, base station ID:missing value, status:status of AirPort configuration “AirPort” of application “Internet Connect”}

As far as I can tell, it’s essentially saying: Internet Connect is using the AirPort, which is turned off and not connected to any network.

Anyone have any clue about this? Does running it on another machine actually return useful values???

Thanks in advance for any help!
-Zach

Model: PowerBook G4 15"
AppleScript: 1.10.3
Browser: Firefox 1.5.0.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

I get the same thing, and came on here to see if it was just me or if others were getting the same results. seems I am not alone, but no idea why or what to do about it :frowning:

Try this:

property theServiceInfo : "/System/Library/CoreServices/RemoteManagement/ARDAgent.app/Contents/Support/networksetup "
set theEnabledServices to {}
set theIPAddressList to {}

set theServiceList to rest of (paragraphs of (do shell script theServiceInfo & "-listallnetworkservices"))
repeat with x in theServiceList --get a list of enabled services