Batch convert to PDF

Anyone got any idea how to convert a batch of Appleworks files to PDF?

My actual task is this:

1. Create a mail merge in Appleworks (easy - done this)
  2. Save merged files as individual documents (easy - done this)
  3. Automatically convert the individual documents to PDF
  4. Name the files according to data in a merge field in the document (e.g. name field)
  5. Distribute individually by email

I tried to “record” the process of opening an Appleworks (6.2.2 under OS 10.3.9) file, and saving to PDF (via the print dialog box), but nothing happened.

Quite likley someone has already solved this problem, but after days of searching I haven’t found the solution.

I’m a newbie at Applescript - sum total of my efforts so far is to print “Hello World” on screen, so I’d be very appreciative of any help you good people could offer.

P.S. I hate to contemplate this, but I could use Microsoft Word instead of Appleworks, but as I detest MS Word, this would have to be a last resort.

Thanks,
George

I’m new to this myself but I think you should be able to do the batch convert portion through a script already included in your OS.

Check out HD>Library>Scripts>Printing Scripts>Convert to PDF.scpt.

I think it’ll do what you need. I’ve seen a number of scripts for renaming batches of files around.

At that point I’d just kind of mesh them together or call them from a main script.

Thanks for the suggestion - I thought it would work, but alas, no. Perhaps I am doing something wrong? I found the Convert to PDF script, saved it as an application (to just drop a file icon onto), but it refuses to work for anything but plain text files (yes, it did convert text files - no problem). However, Appleworks files, Word docs, etc., just did nothing. Are these applications (i.e. the ones that created the Appleworks, Word, etc., files not scriptable, and does that make any difference in this case?).