Beginner that needs advice...

Hello All!

As the title says… I’m new. VERY new to programming and relatively new to Mac’s as well. I run a small web design company part-time and I’m a full-time Firefighter.

I’ve dabbled a bit in the web development arena with php when a client needs a CMS. I usually go with Joomla! and modify as necessary with outside help. I’ve got all the tools for a great design, but I find myself outsourcing the development side. I would like to be a one stop shop, and I have some ideas for other development as well… more of an “application” than a website.

That said, I have two tasks I’m trying to accomplish in the near term. One, I want to learn a language that can be used on my new shiny macbook that I love. Two, a language that can be used or applied to web development that is not PHP.

I’m hesitant on tackling two languages at once because I’m simply not that smart and have too much going on. I say that because my research has basically lead me to three options. I might be a “have my cake, and eat it too” with my questions… so feel free to say so if you think I am.

1. Learn AppleScript as a base to which expand while solving some workflow issues I have right now.

2. Learn Python * with same goal as #1 with added benefit of web dev.

3. Learn Ruby and use the Rails framework. * same as #2

I would really appreciate some honest feedback. I know this site is heavy AS, but I searched and it seems that the majority here are a fairly strait forward bunch… which is nice. Thanks a million!