Best way to compare two NSMutableArray's

Hi! :slight_smile:
I’m a newbie of AppleScriptObjC, so sorry for the simple question, but I cannot find a good answer.
In my application I have a NSMutableArray (dataSource) that I use to populate a tableView. I have also another array (newestDataSource) with the same format but with some new data.
I have to check the second array for missing data from the first array, and add this data to the first array.
How is the best way to achieve this goal but using AppleScriptObjC and not classic Applescript? :confused:
Thank you all.
Renato

Hi,

if the entries in the array are unique and the order doesn’t matter, you could use NSMutableSet,
or “ if the order does matter “ NSMutableOrderedSet. The benefit are methods like minusSet: or intersectSet: to combine or recombine entries and the ability to ignore items to be added multiple times.

set NS.Set classes have also methods to create an NSArray from a set

Thank you very much Stefan for the quick response.
So if I understand correctly that’s the way:

I have my dataSource array with data:

set dataSource to NSMutableArray's alloc()'s init()
set dataForArray to {{title:"Mr",surname:"Doe",phone:"555-555"},{title:"Mr",surname:"Smith",phone:"444-444"}}
dataSource's addObjectsFromArray_(dataForArray)

And I have my other array from a plist file:

set newestDataSource to NSMutableArray's alloc()'s initWithContentsOfFile_(pathToPlist)
-- the data are {{title:"Miss",surname:"Doe",phone:"999-999"},{title:"Mr",surname:"Bishop",phone:"222-222"},}

At the end I need one single array with the union of the two arrays comparing them only by the propriety “surname”. So the result will be an array with three entries: 2 from the first array plus the “Bishop” from the second array (because this surname is not present on the first array).

Now I have to create a NSMutableSet for each array (by the way do I have to use setWithArray_ ?)